I did watch OJ’s car

but that doesn’t count. Kirk Gibson’s home run… But I’ve seen them both in rerun so many times I can’t remember what’s real and what is…real(?)

See: Margo’s prompt

Advice to a Young Anything

Because you’ll begin,
before long at all, to see yourself
in the sand box as if it were your memory,

you should keep a journal.
And by hand, on paper. Bound
(to keep yourself honest).

And only allow yourself crossouts–no erasures.
Then you can tell the self you’ll become
not that you saw a man walk on the moon,

but how, as time crawled up to the steps
you sat on the floor in the den
and ate Life, dry from the box.

6 thoughts on “I did watch OJ’s car

  1. margo roby January 6, 2015 / 9:55 am

    I love this. It has something and shouldn’t be messed with much. Maybe tweaked.

  2. http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com January 6, 2015 / 9:59 am

    An excellent precept and poem.

    I don’t keep a journal, but am fortunate in having a very vivid visual memory. I have a friend who doesn’t “see” at all in her memory, and it seems to be quite a handicap.

  3. barbcrary January 6, 2015 / 12:50 pm

    Barbara, this is a wonderful response to the prompt. OJ – who will care in the least once we “eyewitnesses” – if that’s what we were – die out?

  4. georgeplace2013 January 7, 2015 / 1:48 pm

    That is good advice. There are memories that I’m not sure about anymore. My Mom and I were talking about her father’s mother and I said I remember her in the living room at her daughter’s bed bound . Mom said she died before I could remember that????? It is so vivid.

  5. Hannah Gosselin January 7, 2015 / 2:02 pm

    Yes!! I totally agree and I love what you did with “Life,” I used to love that cereal. Excellent write and I’m loving the new blog name and look…ladybugs hold a special place for me. 🙂

  6. summerstommy2 January 8, 2015 / 3:21 pm

    I thought you offered great advice. The longer we live the more stuff we can say we saw or where we were when it happened.

Leave a Reply

